Cummings Foundation Inc., 200 West Cummings Park, Woburn, MA 01801 email:
Cummings Foundation
New Horizons Communities
Veterinary School
at Tufts, LLC
Grant Programs
and Recipients
Cummings Institute for World Justice
Cummings Properties
Our Approach
Talks and Texts
Annual Update
The Giving Pledge
Contact Us

Trustees of Cummings Foundation

Trustees of Cummings Foundation, Inc. are elected as either "Community Trustees" or "Charter Trustees," but all have equal authority. Community Trustees, who serve renewable three-year terms, are typically area leaders with no employment connection to Cummings Properties or Cummings Foundation, or their subsidiaries. Charter Trustees, who serve without limit of time, are Cummings family or members of the professional staff of Cummings Foundation or an affiliate thereof.

Front row, left to right: The Honorable Margot Botsford, Dr. Marilyn Cummings Morris, Dr. Deborah Kochevar, Joyce Vyriotes, Joyce Cummings, Carol Donovan, Laurie Gabriel
Back row, left to right: Bill Grant (CFO, Cummings Properties), Dennis Clarke (Chairman and CEO, Cummings Properties), Dr. Anthony Monaco, Dr. David Harris, Dr. Joseph Abate, Dr. Arlan Fuller, Bill Cummings, Richard Ockerbloom, Paul Casey, Joel Swets, Eric Anderson (President, Cummings Properties)

Community Trustees

Joseph Abate, M.D.
Orthopedic surgeon
The Honorable Margot Botsford
Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
Paul C. Casey
Retired Massachusetts legislator
Carol A. Donovan
Retired public school teacher and legislator
Arlan F. Fuller, Jr., M.D.
Vice president for oncology services, Winchester Hospital Center for Cancer Care
Laurie Gabriel, CFA
Retired managing partner, Wellington Management Company
David R. Harris, Ph.D.
President, Union College
Deborah T. Kochevar, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Provost and senior vice president ad interim, Tufts University
Anthony P. Monaco, M.D., Ph.D.
President, Tufts University
Richard C. Ockerbloom
Retired president, The Boston Globe


Charter Trustees

Joyce M. Cummings
Co-founder, Cummings Foundation
Patricia A. Cummings, Psy.D.
Psychologist, New York
William S. Cummings
Co-founder, Cummings Foundation
Jason Z. Morris, Ph.D.
Chair, Dept. of Natural Sciences, Fordham University
Marilyn Cummings Morris, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate professor, Columbia University


Trustee Emeritus

Lawrence S. Bacow, J.D., Ph.D.
President, Harvard University

Michael H. Pascavage, AIA
Retired chairman, Cummings Properties


Foundation Staff

Joel B. Swets
Executive director, Cummings Foundation
Joyce Vyriotes
Deputy director (pro bono), Cummings Foundation
Christina Berthelsen
Grants Manager (pro bono), Cummings Foundation


TRUSTEES: All trustees have equal authority. Most serve for renewable three-year terms, except for five family members who serve without limit of time. No trustees receive any compensation from Cummings Foundation, Inc., and no family members are anywhere employed by the Foundation or by any affiliate.

Annual Update
The Giving Pledge
Contact Us